Running the Race

Lately I’ve been trying to get back in my normal routine of running again. 3 years ago I used to run 2 miles in the morning and 2 at night. At that time I was in a better state of mind. Recently due to the many hysterics of life I fell into a depression and stopped running. During this period of not running all of the negative things about my life was brought to the forefront. It’s as if I was reading the book of my life and highlighting the negative aspects of everything. Divorce,job, financial difficulties, love, relationships with family issues and the list goes on.

One day speaking to a close friend and he said “don’t let this break you”. I realized that I couldn’t watch myself wallow in misery any longer so I started to run in the early morning again, early rise when no one is out in about and I can hear nature speaking; the birds chirping and rustling trees in the breeze. 

This particular morning I ran and after the first mile, I was shocked I made it in a better time than other days. During the second mile at .40 I said “you know what I can do another mile… It’s not that bad”. During the 2-3 mile run I started to feel tired and I was saying to myself “I’m tired” but then a still small voice said no you are not. When I heard those words I picked up my speed and did not focus on my back which was showing discomfort. I kept repeating in my mind “I’m not tired, not tired”, over and over again and just like that I made my 3 mile mark. 

When running the race of life we need to focus on the result not the present pain and misfortune. The mind needs to lead by programming and instilling the opposites of what the body is feeling. When times are at it’s toughest we need to encourage ourselves to keep pushing and completely block the negative aspect of the current situation and realize there is an greater end result after all of the turmoil. 

Focus and have faith that you can and will finish and guess what you will finish everything you set your heart to. Just believe!

#faith #belief #running #race #focus #writing #blog #poetess #cammy2qt

Leave a Reply

